CEP Energy Master Fan Specialist

Recognising best practice with respect to energy performance

The Energy Master Fan Specialist Accreditation recognises individuals who have demonstrated best practice design and operation of commercial and industrial fan systems with respect to energy performance.

Membership of CEP or Engineering New Zealand (Formerly known as IPENZ) is not mandatory for Accreditation.


The minimum requirements for Energy Master Fan Specialist Accreditation include demonstrating to the Assessor that you have general competence in comprehending technical concepts and applying systematic scientific methods to problem solving related to fan system design and operation.

Membership of an Engineering NZ Technical Group or registration on a relevant current competence register is helpful in demonstrating general competence. Current work experience in the industrial sector with an emphasis on fan systems is most important.

The Fan Assessor will want to see evidence of your:

  • Sufficient qualifications in fluid dynamics
  • Relevant broad work experience
  • Fan design and operational experience
  • Type 3 report (audit, or equivalently technical documentation) applicable to an existing Fan system improvement programme. Your report should include detailed explanations and calculations to provide evidence of your decision making.

If you are unable to submit a Type 3 Fan Systems Audit report, you may submit a Type 2 Energy Audit as defined in AS/NZS 3598.2:2014 for assessment to obtain provisional accreditation until you have carried out a Type 3 Fan Systems Audit. All forms and related evidence should be submitted to CEP for processing.

Application forms and documentation

  • Energy Master General Guidance for Applicants (PDF) – This general guidance document includes all you need to know in the process of becoming an Accredited Energy Master professional. It shows the general procedures, suggests useful tips and outlines fees and timeframes.
  • For information specific to the Fan Specialist Application contact the CEP office.

NB: All accreditations are valid for 5 years before Reaccreditation is required.